SBOT IP Section Diversity Scholarship Award

2020 Scholarship Application

The Intellectual Property Law Section of the State Bar of Texas will award two $5,000 scholarships to eligible law students. Any student enrolled in an ABA-accredited law school in Texas during any part of the application submission period may apply. Students who have been accepted to law school but have not yet started classes at the time the application is filed are not eligible. Students who have graduated at the time the scholarship is awarded are eligible.

The purpose of the scholarships is to encourage law students who have not traditionally been represented in the Intellectual Property practice to enter the Intellectual Property profession in Texas by providing financial assistance to help defray the expenses of a law-school education. Selection criteria for the scholarships include but are not limited to: scholastic merit; financial need; membership in a socio-economic group traditionally under-represented in the practice; demonstrated experience and interest in the practice; Texas roots; first generation in a family to go to college or law school; science and engineering undergraduate education or experience; contributions to or participation in minority or diversity programs; disabilities; community service; and extracurricular activities both inside and outside law school, including legal externships or internships in the field of intellectual property. The Deadline for submitting applications is May 1, 2020.

2019 Danielle Zapata and Vernetra Gavin
2018 Jolene Robin-McCaskill and Brandon Cofield
2017 Charles Liu and Paige Edwards
2016 Hector Leal and Juan Yaquian
2015 Samon Kadivar, Mikeyia Dawkins, and Jun Zheng
2014 Ping Lei
2014 Tamoka Bellard
2008 Ryan Abbott and Kathy Li
2007 Sheila Kadura, Johnson Kuncheria, and Jennifer Librach
2006 Valerie Yu-Mei Chen, Debera Wells
2005 Elizabeth McKee, Hope Shimabuku, and John Yang
2004 Anna Elise McMinn and Amos Olubunmi