Diversity Committee

Encourage those who have not traditionally been represented in Intellectual Property practice to enter and succeed in the Intellectual Property profession.

State Bar of Texas IP Section Scholarship Awardees

We are pleased to introduce our awardees this year: Lorraine Olutu and Emma Myles.

Lorraine lives in Houston and is a May 2023 graduate of Texas Southern University, Thurgood Marshall School of Law (TMSL). She received her degree in communications and political science from the University of Hartford. Prior to law school, she worked in the pharmaceutical and digital dental technology industry. Lorraine has served as the president of the Intellectual Property Law Society for two consecutive school years (2021-2023) at TMSL. She has also served as a student member of the Honorable Judge Nancy F. Atlas Intellectual Property Inn of Court and plans to join Hewlett-Packard Enterprise this fall.
Emma recently completed her Juris Doctorate at the University of Houston Law Center in May 2023. Throughout her time in law school, she was member of the Black Law Students Association, the External Vice-President of the Intellectual Property Student Organization, a legal writing TA, and Chief Articles Editor of the Houston Business & Tax Law Journal. During her 2L summer, she clerked with the Honorable Alan Albright for the U.S. District Court in the Western District of Texas focused on patent law matters. During her 3L year, she interned with the University of Houston's Office of Technology Transfer and Innovation where she helped manage the University's intellectual property portfolio. She was recently inducted into the National Order of Scribes and received the Intellectual Property and Information Law Co-directors award for her article on trademark law and parody expression. Upon passing the bar, she will join Cokinos I Young in Houston, TX.

The SBOT IP Section awards two $5,000 scholarships to eligible law students. The purpose of the scholarships is to encourage law students who have not traditionally been represented in the IP law practice to enter the field of IP law in Texas by providing financial assistance to help defray the expenses of law school.

Our criteria include:

  • Scholastic merit
  • Financial need
  • Membership in traditionally underrepresented socio-economic groups in IP law
  • Demonstrative interest in IP law
  • Texas roots

This year, like our previously years, we had a very difficult time picking the scholarship winners from the many incredibly impressive applicants who submitted applications.


CHAIR: Niky Bagley

COUNCIL LIAISON: Marylauren Ilagan


Home    About Us    Events    Committees    Newsletter    Awards    Council    Join Us   
Please do not submit any requests for legal advice or legal research. NO RESPONSE WILL BE PROVIDED TO ANY SUCH REQUESTS.
Submit any requests for information about the State Bar of Texas directly to the State Bar of Texas. The State Bar of Texas can be accessed here.

© 2024 Copyright The Intellectual Property Section - State Bar of Texas. All rights reserved.